Skip navigation

2017 Commencement and Awards Ceremony

We celebrated our annual spring commencement and awards ceremony on Saturday, May 13th, at Boutell Memorial Concert Hall.  Approximately 200 family members and friends came to cheer on the students as they were recognized for their academic achievements.

Congratulations to the following young men and women:

Shadrick Mead  - Dean's Award for outstanding scholarship and contributions to the university community

Shadrick Mead  - Wilkinson Memorial Award for the highest cumulative GPA in his 4-year career at NIU

Katherine Paton - Maryanov Award for intellectual capacity, commitment and character, qualities embodied by the late Professor Gerald S. Maryanov

Martin Claar - Outstanding Graduate Instructor Award for effectiveness and excellence in undergraduate teaching

Ala Dynak - Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award for his paper "State Government and Public Universities"

Daniel Alarcon and Alexandra Adunek - Inez Nelson Award for being in good academic standing and participating in the study abroad program at Oxford.

Christine Wang - John G. and Barbara C. Peters Scholarship for Outstanding Public Service, given for outstanding contributions to public service through public service related internship, political campaign, government or student government

Afrimadona - Martin David Dubin Memorial Scholarship, given to a greaduate student who is in the process of writing his or her dissertation.

Azriansyah Agoes - Dr. Russell W. Smith Memorial Scholarship for travel to Southeast Asia to complete field work as part of a faculty approved research project.

Kaitlyn Harper and  Ayesha Feroz - Richard J. Doherty & Jon F. Erickson Chicago Law Internship Scholarship, is to provide financial assistance to a Northern Illinois University student who will participate in a summer internship with the Chicago Bar Foundation, the Richard J. Daley Center Pro Bono Resource Center, and the Office of the Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County

Erin Hernanadez, Lark Lewis, Christine Wang, and Benjamin Staub - Washington, D.C., Congressional Internship Scholars who will intern on the Hill this summer for Congresswoman Cheri Bustos, Congresswoman Robin Kelly, and Congressman Bill Foster.

Ala Dynak and Brennen Dziadon - Department Honors

Brennen Dziadon and Shadrick Mead - Tocqueville Forum Fellowships to help fund undergraduate research in the areas of political theory, public law, and American government.

The Department graduated 24 Political Science Scholars with cumulative GPAs of 3.0 to 3.49 and 20 Students of Distinction with cumulative GPAs of 3.5 to 4.0.

Pi Sigma Alpha Initiates (National Political Science Honor Society)

  • Ibrahim Baig
  • Kelsey Lief
  • Theo Poole
  • Scott Reynolds
  • Sarah Scott
  • Aissatou Sow
  • Maguette Sow

Graduate Students

  • Timothy Clishem, M.A.
  • Jill Dunlap, Ph.D.
  • Kaitlyn Gradecki, M.A.
  • Haala Hweio, Ph.D.
  • Li-Yin Liu, Ph.D.
  • Ronnie Nataatmadja, Ph.D.
  • Katerine Paton, Ph.D.
  • Thomas Rhoden, Ph.D.
  • Michael Sweeney, M.A.

Contact Us

Department of Political Science
Zulauf Hall 415
Phone: 815-753-1011
Fax: 815-753-6302